edX: free credits and offers

Best offer on record: Google Cloud Free Trial: $300 credit for 90 days (new customers). 12 verified findings, checked 2026-10-22.

Offers

Google Cloud Free Trial: $300 credit for 90 days (new customers) high confidence

$300 USD credit for new customers, usable for 90 days from sign-up. The trial ends at whichever comes first: credit spent or 90 days. Free Tier usage is not charged against the $300. During the trial, usage beyond the credit, beyond Free Tier limits, or on products outside the trial is charged to the payment method. The trial auto-closes at its end, resources stop, and there is a 30-day grace period to upgrade. Resources not moved to a paid billing account in that window are permanently deleted.

Eligibility
Anyone who has never been a paying Google Cloud, Maps Platform or Firebase user and has not previously signed up for the Free Trial. No .edu or student gate. A credit card or other valid payment method is REQUIRED at sign-up (the FAQ says it is a temporary authorization hold, not a charge). No region limit found in the text read.
How to claim
Open cloud.google.com/free and click 'Get started for free'. Sign in with a Google account, accept terms, and add a payment method during sign-up. The trial period starts once the payment method is verified. Create projects under the trial billing account.
Expiry
Ends at $300 spent or 90 days after sign-up, whichever comes first. Then a 30-day grace period to upgrade.
Gotchas
This is a trial, not a free tier: a card is required. Students who sign up by mistake will be charged for overage during the trial. The Google for Education teaching page itself warns students about this. Product-specific trials (see the next finding) are separate. Sources read today: cloud.google.com/free and cloud.google.com/free/docs/free-program-faqs.
Source
cloud.google.com

Google Cloud Free Tier: always-free monthly quotas (no trial) high confidence

Monthly quotas that do not expire (the page says they are 'subject to change'). Compute Engine: 1 e2-micro VM per month. Cloud Storage: 5 GB-months Standard. BigQuery: 1 TB queries per month. Cloud Run: 2 million requests per month. Cloud Run functions: 2 million invocations per month. Pub/Sub: 10 GB messages per month. Firestore: 1 GB storage. Artifact Registry: 0.5 GB per month. Cloud Build: 120 build-minutes per day. Speech-to-Text: 60 minutes per month. Vision AI and Video Intelligence: 1,000 units each per month. Natural Language: 5,000 units per month. Workflows: 5,000 internal steps per month. Secret Manager: 6 secret versions per month. Cloud Shell: 5 GB persistent disk. GKE: one Autopilot or Zonal cluster per month. Agent Engine: first 180,000 vCPU-seconds (50 hours) and 360,000 GiB-seconds (100 hours) per month. Application Integration: 400 executions and 20 GiB per month. Cloud Source Repositories: up to 5 users. Datastream: 100 GiB of CDC per month.

Eligibility
Eligible customers only. Requires a Cloud Billing account that is active and in good standing, and no negotiated pricing contract or custom rate card (FAQ). Some quotas are stated per billing account. No student or startup gate. A card requirement for the free tier alone was not stated, but a billing account is needed.
How to claim
Create a Google Cloud project on a billing account and stay inside the monthly limits. Nothing else to sign up for.
Expiry
Monthly limits reset each month. Not time-limited, but subject to change per the page.
Gotchas
Only the listed quotas are free. Usage above a limit is billed to the billing account. Earlier secondary summaries quoted different figures (for example Cloud Run 180,000 requests and Artifact Registry 50 GB). Those do not match the official page and were discarded.
Source
cloud.google.com

Google Cloud product-specific trials (in addition to the $300) high confidence

Spanner: 90-day free trial instance with 10 GB storage at no cost. Cloud SQL: 30-day free trial with an 8 vCPU Enterprise Plus instance, 64 GB memory and 100 GB storage. AlloyDB: 30-day trial instance. Looker: 30-day trial instance. GKE: full set of product capabilities for 90 days for no fee. Gemini Enterprise Plus edition: 30 days at no cost. The Spanner and Cloud SQL trial text also says new customers get $300 in credits on signup.

Eligibility
New Google Cloud customers. The FAQ section on product-specific trials has a sentence about what account is needed that was cut off in this run, so check each product page before starting.
How to claim
Create the trial instance from the product's console page. FAQ wording: 'Create a 90-day Spanner free trial instance'.
Expiry
30 or 90 days, per product. Post-trial behaviour was not verified in this run.
Gotchas
Trial instances are not the Always Free tier. Check each product's post-trial billing before leaving instances running. Also see https://cloud.google.com/free/docs/free-program-faqs.
Source
cloud.google.com

Google Skills student credits: 200 free credits (college and university students) high confidence

200 Google Skills credits, usable on any lab in the catalog (hands-on labs, skill badges, courses). Credits expire one year after issue. Redeemable only for Google Skills educational content or Google Cloud certifications, and only for the institution's benefit. The form terms bar personal or hobby use and say credits are not a gift. They cannot pay for cloud infrastructure.

Eligibility
Currently enrolled college or university students at accredited institutions in eligible countries (the country list is on the form and was not captured in full). An institutional email is used to verify eligibility. The form does not say .edu specifically. The application is made on behalf of the institution.
How to claim
From cloud.google.com/edu/students click 'Request credits'. The form is at services.google.com/fb/forms/googlecloudskillsbooststudenttrainingcreditsapplication/. Enter institutional email and country, accept terms and submit. Once approved, redeem on skills.google.com.
Expiry
One year after issue.
Gotchas
No payment step appears on the form, so no card is stated. Do not confuse this with the $300 trial, which needs a card. Form terms let Google share personal data with the institution and instructor. Country-limited.
Source
cloud.google.com

Google Skills Arcade: free gamified hands-on labs with badges and prizes medium confidence

No-cost access to hands-on labs in a gamified space. Complete games and challenges, earn badges, and win swag and prizes. The page headline says 'earn prizes with Google Skills Arcade'.

Eligibility
Listed on the students page. Eligibility, age and country limits are not stated in the text read.
How to claim
Follow the 'Explore Google Skills Arcade' link on cloud.google.com/edu/students (go.cloudskillsboost.google/arcade).
Expiry
Not stated.
Gotchas
Prize and swag terms were not read.
Source
cloud.google.com

Faculty teaching credits: up to $100 per teaching staff and $50 per student high confidence

Faculty can apply for Google Cloud credits: up to $100 per teaching staff member and up to $50 per student. Up to three courses per application. Credits are redeemable from approval until 16 weeks after course start, and are good for up to one year after course start. Course start must be within one year of applying.

Eligibility
Faculty only. Students cannot apply and are told to ask their professor. A school email with a valid .edu domain is required. Credits attach to that address, and only listed school domains can access them. Country list (about 80 countries, plus a US state list); other countries can only express interest. Needs a faculty directory link and a course URL showing the applicant teaches the course.
How to claim
Apply at edu.google.com/programs/credits/teaching/ (linked from cloud.google.com/edu/faculty). Provide school email, institution, faculty directory link, course name, start date, abstract of how credits will be used, course URL, school student domains and expected headcounts.
Expiry
Redeemable until 16 weeks after course start. Valid for up to one year after course start.
Gotchas
Not available to students directly. Course-specific and country-limited. No card step appears on the form.
Source
cloud.google.com

Research credits: $5,000 for faculty, PhD students and postdocs high confidence

The researchers hub advertises 'Apply for $5,000 in research credits'. Terms: non-transferable and cannot be sold. Must be activated within 60 days of the project start date. Expire 365 days after coupon redemption or when fully used. GCP products only. Personal use is prohibited, and PhD students may use credits only for the project.

Eligibility
Faculty, PhD students and postdoctoral researchers at accredited higher-education institutions and eligible nonprofit research institutions in approved countries (country list on form). Institution email preferred. The application asks about external funding, prior cloud experience, and how the project will be funded after credits expire.
How to claim
Apply at edu.google.com/programs/credits/research/. Provide project name and start date, a proposal of up to 250 words (or a shared doc link), field of research, a pricing-calculator estimate link, and a Google Cloud Billing Account ID. Create the billing account first to redeem credits.
Expiry
Activate within 60 days of project start. Expire 365 days after redemption or when used up.
Gotchas
A billing account and a pricing estimate are required. Personal use is prohibited. Approval is discretionary. Whether a card is needed for the billing account is not stated on the form. Also see https://edu.google.com/programs/credits/research/.
Source
cloud.google.com

Google for Startups Cloud Program: Start tier (up to $2,000 credits and perks) high confidence

Up to $2,000 USD Google Cloud credits, valid one year. $200 Google Skills training credits. Google Workspace Business Plus free for 12 months for new sign-ups. AI webinars and content. Web3 perks (partner discounts from Quicknode, TRM, Allium and others).

Eligibility
Technology startup planning to seek venture funding soon. Founded within the last 24 months (per the benefits page). Not yet received Google Cloud credits beyond the free trial. Well-defined product roadmap. Acceptance is at Google's discretion. Excluded: educational institutions, government entities, nonprofits, personal blogs, dev shops, consultancies and agencies. Company email must match the company domain; personal email is not accepted (application guide). Workspace benefit: the company domain must not have had a paid Workspace plan in the 31 days before applying.
How to claim
Apply at cloud.google.com/startup ('Apply now' on the Start tier). Have a Google Cloud Billing ID (the application guide says to wait about 48 hours after creating it), a business email matching the domain, and a billing account owner on the same domain. Google matches the tier.
Expiry
Credits valid one year. Workspace 12 months from sign-up.
Gotchas
Official pages disagree on the founding window: 24 months on the benefits page, 'three to five years' on cloud.google.com/startup, and 10 years in an older application guide. Confirm on the application form. Third-party models (ex Anthropic) are billed directly and not covered by credits. Footnote: offer subject to change without notification.
Source
cloud.google.com

Google for Startups Cloud Program: Scale tier (up to $200,000 credits; $350,000 for AI startups) high confidence

Up to $200,000 USD Google Cloud credits over two years, or up to $350,000 for AI-first startups. Year 1: 100% up to $100,000 (AI-first: up to $250,000). Year 2: 20% up to an additional $100,000. Also: $500 Google Skills training credits; Google Workspace Business Plus free for 12 months for new sign-ups; $600 per month Google Maps Platform credits (separate application); up to $12,000 Google Cloud Enhanced Support credits for one year; a Startup Success Manager and Customer Engineers.

Eligibility
Pre-Seed or Seed raised within the last 5 years, or Series A within the last 12 months. Founded within the last five years. Not previously received more than $5,000 in Google Cloud credits. Qualifying funding is equity from institutional investors or VCs (SAFEs eligible; Web3 token raises and blockchain foundation grants accepted). Private equity, government innovation grants, prize funding, crowdfunding, angel and friends-and-family money do not qualify for Scale, but are evaluated for other tiers. Needs a working MVP, a roadmap, a verified company domain and publicly available proof of funding (application guide). Excludes educational institutions, nonprofits, government and agencies.
How to claim
Apply at cloud.google.com/startup ('Apply now'). Provide a business email matching the public website, an active Google Cloud Billing ID owned by the same domain, and public proof of funding. Google reviews and matches the tier. Maps needs a separate application.
Expiry
Credits span two years. Enhanced Support for one year. Workspace 12 months.
Gotchas
The $350,000 headline is AI-first only; non-AI tops out at $200,000. Third-party models (ex Anthropic) are billed directly and not covered by credits. Workspace needs no paid Workspace plan on the domain within 31 days before applying. Startup terms excerpt says acceptance is at Google's sole discretion, including geographic region. Offer subject to change without notice.
Source
cloud.google.com

Google AI Studio: free Gemini API access for prototyping builders medium confidence

Free access to the Gemini API in Google AI Studio for builders at the Prototyping stage, with instant access to a rapid prototyping environment, API key management, and access to Gemini and Gemma models. No credit amount or quota is stated on the pages read.

Eligibility
Startup pages describe the criteria as developers and builders working on small businesses, bootstrapped startups and self-funded ideas (no funding needed). Pre-funded builders and new Google Cloud customers are also named. No region limit found in the text read.
How to claim
Use 'Start building in AI Studio' from cloud.google.com/startup and create an API key.
Expiry
Not stated.
Gotchas
Free quotas and rate limits were not read. The free-access statement came from a search excerpt of startup.google.com/cloud, not a full page read (https://startup.google.com/cloud/).
Source
cloud.google.com

edX audit track: free enrollment in most courses high confidence

Most edX courses can be audited for free before committing to the paid verified certificate track. Audit gives temporary access to select course content for the audit period. Graded assignments, exams and the certificate are not part of the audit track. The verified track is paid.

Eligibility
Any learner with a free edX account. Audit availability and access length are set per course (check the course page). No region or .edu limit found in the pages read.
How to claim
On edx.org click 'Register for free' or 'Create your free account'. Open the course and choose 'Continue with audit track' or 'Select audit track'.
Expiry
Audit access is temporary. Length varies by course.
Gotchas
Audit is not a certificate, and graded work is locked. Financial assistance requires enrolling in the audit track first (see the next finding). Homepage: https://www.edx.org/.
Source
edx.org

edX financial assistance: up to 80% off the verified-track fee high confidence

Eligible learners can get up to an 80% reduction on the verified-track fee for eligible courses. Maximum five approvals per 12-month period. Each course needs its own application. Assistance applies only to the course it was granted for and cannot be transferred. Decisions come by email, within up to four weeks. Apply before the course's published cutoff to upgrade to verified.

Eligibility
Financial need, judged on income, employment status and need. Course-by-course: not every course accepts assistance, and a list of non-qualifying courses is published. No .edu requirement and no region limit found in the page read. Degree programs can use federal aid (FAFSA) instead.
How to claim
1) Check the course homepage for assistance eligibility. 2) Enroll in the audit track. 3) Sign in to edX and complete the financial assistance application for that course. 4) Wait for the email decision (up to four weeks). 5) Upgrade to verified before the course's cutoff.
Expiry
Approval is per course. Cutoff varies by course. Five approvals per 12 months.
Gotchas
Cutoff dates vary, and missing one loses the discount. A denied application can be re-applied only if the error was in the submitted information. The homepage promo (code FALL2026, up to 20% off select courses and programs, 'for a limited time') is a discount, not a free offer.
Source
edx.org

Listed in