Best offer on record: Pinecone for Startups. 2 verified findings, checked 2026-10-22.
Offers
Pinecone for Startups high confidence
Official startup program on pinecone.io. Free access to the Standard tier (normally a $50/month minimum usage plan) and Pro Support, including a dedicated Slack channel, any cloud/region deployment, RBAC, backups, import, and Prometheus metrics. Startups in the program also receive usage credits and discounts, but the official page gives no dollar amount for the credits and no duration for any benefit. Confirmed on the official program page on 2026-10-22.
Eligibility
Startups with fewer than 100 employees that are Series A or earlier. The official page states no time, region, or new-customer limits beyond these criteria and gives no approval timeline.
How to claim
Submit the 'Join the Program' form on https://www.pinecone.io/startup-program/ (a separate partner form is also linked there). Questions go to startups@pinecone.io. The official page describes no steps after the form.
Expiry
Not published on the official page. Third-party listings conflict and none appear on pinecone.io: a Builtfirst/Cintrifuse marketplace listing (Sequoia-portfolio variant) says 1 year of free Standard access and up to $3,500 usage credits in year one for new customers; StartupPerks says $5,000 over 6 months (unfunded) or up to $150,000 over 2 years (funded); guptadeepak says credits are valid 12 months.
Gotchas
(1) Credit amounts and discount levels are undisclosed, so do not budget on any dollar figure without written confirmation from Pinecone. (2) Some aggregators list terms the official page does not contain, including Series B+ eligibility; the official criteria are fewer than 100 employees and Series A or earlier. (3) Only the Standard tier and Pro Support are confirmed as free; the free Starter plan is separate (finding 2). (4) No end date, renewal, or post-program pricing is stated; ask startups@pinecone.io for the credit amount and start and end dates in writing, and plan for the Standard tier's $50/month minimum once any free period ends.
Pinecone Starter (permanent free plan) high confidence
General free plan, shown as 'Start for Free' on the official pricing page with no time limit. Official limits: 2 GB serverless index storage per org plus 1 GB Assistant storage; 5 serverless indexes per project; 1 project per org; 2 users per org; 100 namespaces per index; AWS us-east-1 only. Monthly caps per org: 1,000,000 read units, 2,000,000 write units, and 5,000,000 embedding tokens per model; 500 requests per month each for the bge-reranker-v2-m3 and pinecone-rerank-v0 rerankers (Cohere rerankers not available). Egress: 1 GB per month (allowance dated 2026-09-01). Support: community Discord only; console metrics included. The 1M read and 2M write unit figures that secondary trackers reported are confirmed by Pinecone's rate-limits page (https://docs.pinecone.io/reference/api/database-limits/rate-limits); object limits are on https://docs.pinecone.io/reference/api/database-limits/object-limits.
Eligibility
Anyone with a Pinecone account. This is a general free plan, not a student or startup program: the official pricing page names no student, startup, or education criteria and no verification step. Include it in a student/startup list only if general free tiers are in scope.
How to claim
Sign up and choose Starter via the pricing page's 'Start for Free' button, then create a serverless index in AWS us-east-1. No application or verification step is documented. Whether a credit card is needed is not stated on the official pages checked.
Expiry
None stated; the official pricing page lists Starter as free with no time limit. Limits can still change: the egress allowance was added to Starter on 2026-09-01.
Gotchas
(1) Hard monthly caps: once read or write units are used up, requests return 429 until the next billing period or an upgrade. (2) Egress cap: once 1 GB is reached, reads that return data are blocked (RESOURCE_EXHAUSTED, 429), while index stats, index management and writes still work. (3) Region lock: Starter stays on AWS us-east-1 (Builder gained all GA regions in June 2026). (4) No Dedicated Read Nodes, backups, bulk import, RBAC or SSO, which are Standard-tier features. (5) Per-second limits apply, for example 100 query requests per second per namespace and 50 MB upsert per second per namespace. (6) Downgrading from a paid plan to Starter deletes everything beyond 1 project, 5 indexes in us-east-1, 2 GB of data, 2 members and 5 assistants, including backups and collections.
Result: a genuine startup offer exists (Pinecone for Startups, finding 1), and a general free plan exists (Pinecone Starter, finding 2) that is not student- or startup-specific. No genuine student-specific offer was found.Student checks: (a) the official pricing page names no student, education or academic program; (b) https://www.pinecone.io/students/ returned HTTP 404; (c) the GitHub Student Developer Pack (https://education.github.com/pack) does not list Pinecone; (d) the 2026 release notes (https://docs.pinecone.io/release-notes/2026) list no student or startup program. The only 'Pinecone Serverless Starter Tier Free Student Deal' found (https://www.themodelverse.in/perks/pinecone-serverless-starter-tier) is a third-party page that links only to pinecone.io/pricing, claims 1 index and 100K vectors (the official Starter plan has 5 indexes), and cites no Pinecone-issued student terms. It is excluded.Excluded as not student/startup-specific or no longer current: (1) Standard plan trial: $300 in credits over 21 days, no up-front payment, for any new organization (https://docs.pinecone.io/guides/organizations/manage-billing/standard-trial); time-limited and general. (2) Builder plan first-month-free promotion: upgrades before May 31, 2026 (https://www.pinecone.io/blog/builder-plan); expired. (3) $250 import credit for Standard and Enterprise accounts (2026-06-01 release note; Builder and Starter ineligible); per the 2026-09-01 note, new subscriptions no longer receive it and existing credits end by Nov 1, 2026. (4) Starter temporary input-token allowance rise to 1M per month (2026-05-05 release note); ended June 30, 2026.Recommendation: if the index covers startup offers, add Pinecone for Startups with its undisclosed-credit caveat. If it covers general free tiers, Starter is the qualifying entry.Confidence: the no-student-offer conclusion is medium. The WebSearch session budget ran out before a final targeted student search, so that conclusion rests on the official pages and the GitHub Student Pack check, not a broad search. Starter's card requirement is not stated on the official pages checked.