Best offer on record: PostHog Cloud free tier (monthly allowance on every product). 11 verified findings, checked 2026-10-22.
Offers
PostHog Cloud free tier (monthly allowance on every product) medium confidence
Every product has a monthly free allowance that resets monthly. It is not a trial. The official pricing page source says the free tier is generous on every product, that it resets monthly, and that the allowance is the same whether or not a card is on file (a card is only for higher limits). The official docs say each product has a very generous free tier and that mobile recordings have their own free tier. Per-product numbers were NOT verified: posthog.com/pricing renders client-side (WebFetch saw about 2,390 characters of nav text) and the allowance values come from the billing service. The workflow-supplied figures (1M events, 5K session recordings, 100K error exceptions, 1,500 survey responses, 10K workflow messages per month) remain unconfirmed. The MAX_ constants in src/components/Pricing/pricingLogic.ts (50M product analytics, 150K replay, 10M flags, 100K surveys) are slider maxima, not free allowances.
Eligibility
Anyone with a PostHog account. No student or startup proof needed. Founders without a company domain can use the monthly free allowance and apply for startup credits later.
How to claim
Sign up free via the Get started - free button (app.posthog.com/signup). No application needed for the free allowance.
Expiry
Resets monthly. No expiry or rollover stated on the official sources.
Gotchas
Per-product limits are unverified in this run, so check the in-app billing usage projection before scaling. Card requirement: the pricing source says the allowance is the same without a card on file, which is medium confidence.
PostHog for Startups: $50,000 credits for 12 months high confidence
$50,000 in PostHog credits valid for 12 months, usable across most PostHog products (AI tools excluded, see gotchas). The official startups page also lists about $12,000 in partner benefits (examples: $1,500 off Incident.io and $5,000 of Depot credit), exclusive founder merch, and a monthly founders newsletter. Credits cannot be used toward a BAA under the Boost plan. Partner benefits with Speakeasy and Incident.io per the handbook.
Eligibility
Company under 2 years old, raised less than $5M total, not acquired (handbook), and the PostHog account must use the company email domain. Gmail, Outlook and other free or disposable domains are rejected at submission. Credits require a PostHog sign-up on or after 1 Jan 2023; older sign-ups join the program but get no credits. No region restriction appears in the official text (a third-party listing says worldwide). No .edu or student rule applies.
How to claim
1) Sign up for PostHog with the company email. 2) Upgrade to a paid plan from that account (you pay only for usage beyond credits). 3) Submit the startups application form at posthog.com/startups (app.posthog.com/startups). 4) Applications are auto-approved, then manually reviewed. The credit is applied automatically and you get an acceptance email.
Expiry
Credits expire 12 months after grant. Afterwards you move to another paid plan, with no renewal. Extensions are exceptional: the handbook says credits are usually not extended, and requests need a clear explanation plus evidence of recent progress, with manual review by Customer Success. Small open-source projects with no corporate backing and under $200K annual revenue can ask support to waive the 12-month expiry.
Gotchas
Not a trial and not a hard cap: once credits run out, usage is billed. The FAQ only says you can move to another plan if you go over $50K, so set billing limits. The official text says to sign up to a paid plan to apply but does not state a card requirement explicitly, so assume billing details are needed. Support is only for paying customers (Stripe Atlas FAQ). From 14 Sep 2026 (already in force), credits cannot pay for AI tools (PostHog Desktop, PostHog Slack app, Replay Vision, PostHog AI, Inbox). Teams that joined before that date can still pay for pre-cutoff usage with credits.
PostHog x Stripe Atlas co-offer (same credits plus partner discounts) high confidence
Same $50,000 in credits for 12 months, plus 50% off Mintlify for 6 months and 50% off Speakeasy for 6 months (voucher emailed after acceptance), and exclusive founder merch.
Eligibility
Under 2 years old and under $5M in funding, per the Stripe Atlas page. Does not stack with the YC deal.
How to claim
Submit the application form, complete onboarding, then sign up for PostHog Cloud (Stripe Atlas page). The FAQ says to sign up to a paid plan and then fill in the form; the credit is applied automatically if eligible.
Expiry
Credits valid 12 months. The Mintlify and Speakeasy discounts run for 6 months.
Gotchas
The page's eligibility lists only age and funding; Stripe Atlas incorporation is not stated as a rule. The AI-tool exclusion from 14 Sep 2026 is not restated on this page but the same program terms are assumed.
PostHog for Y Combinator: $50,000 per year while eligible high confidence
$50,000 per year, renewing automatically while eligible. Up to 4 unique founder merch packs (different from the startup pack), HogPatch access for the batch duration, and partner benefits with Speakeasy and Incident.io. Unlike the startup deal, YC credits can be used toward a BAA under the Boost plan. The same AI-tool exclusion applies from 14 Sep 2026.
Eligibility
Must be in a YC batch (proved with a YC verification link), under $25M raised in total, company email domain. Not available to YC alumni who started another company (they can apply for the startup deal instead), and not if the company was acquired by a non-YC parent. Does not stack with the startup deal.
How to claim
Register once via the YC-only Bookface page (the handbook calls it the Secret YC page). The credit then renews automatically while eligible.
Expiry
Renews automatically each year while eligible (under $25M raised). Previously expired registrations must register again.
Gotchas
The handbook text on what happens to credits after an acquisition was cut off in the excerpt (it says existing credits can be honored until expiry), so treat carry-over as unconfirmed.
Founder Lab variant: $55,000 credits plus $5,000 referral bonus medium confidence
Founder Lab members get $55,000 in credits, valid one year (official founder-lab source). Startups accepted into PostHog for Startups can refer other customers to unlock $5,000 of extra credit for both parties. Founder Lab extras per the page: free swag and monthly startup spotlights.
Eligibility
Founder Lab membership (membership criteria not checked). Same startup eligibility: under 2 years old, under $5M raised, company email domain (personal emails not accepted), sign-up on or after 1 Jan 2023.
How to claim
Start a paid PostHog plan, then submit the application at app.posthog.com/startups from the company-email account, using Founder Lab as the referrer.
Expiry
One year.
Gotchas
Membership requirement unverified. Details come from the repo source (contents/founder-lab.mdx), summarized rather than read from the rendered page. The referral bonus applies only to startups already accepted into the program.
PostHog for Students: campus event sponsorship (not a software credit) medium confidence
Student organizers can apply to host a PostHog campus event for $2,000 per event: $1,000 toward food and beverages, $1,000 worth of PostHog merchandise, plus a PostHog speaker. Events run each semester. No annual event count is stated.
Eligibility
Students at Bay Area or California universities, using a school email. Other schools may apply, but expansion is not guaranteed.
How to claim
Apply through the form on posthog.com/students (the page says You or your student org apply to host an event). No deadline stated.
Expiry
Per event. Programming runs each semester; no end date stated.
Gotchas
This is not a free plan or product credit. No student software credit, free plan or education license was found: posthog.com/education returns HTTP 404, and PostHog is not listed on the GitHub Student Developer Pack page fetched today. The student page renders client-side, so terms come from the repo component source (src/components/Students/StudentProgram.tsx).
Side project insurance (surprise-bill refund for hobby projects) medium confidence
PostHog refunds a surprise bill for hobby or no-revenue projects. No dollar cap is stated, and only bills from the initial month of use are covered. The page says it is not an actual insurance policy and that PostHog has the final say on refunds.
Eligibility
Both must apply: (1) the first invoice exceeds $1, or usage rises more than 200% versus the average of the previous three months; and (2) no revenue, or a hobby project. Students are not mentioned.
How to claim
Contact PostHog through the in-app Help button.
Expiry
Covers only bills from the initial month of use.
Gotchas
A discretionary refund, not credits. Set billing limits to avoid surprise bills in the first place.
Lenny's Newsletter Product Pass perk (partner subscribers) medium confidence
For new paying customers who came through Lenny's Newsletter Product Pass: double the free-tier caps on metered products, a Scale add-on at no charge, valid one year. Product exclusions match the startup deal (PostHog Desktop, PostHog Slack app, and others).
Eligibility
Lenny's Newsletter Product Pass subscribers who have just started paying. Not startup- or student-specific.
How to claim
Co-branded landing page for Product Pass holders (posthog.com/lenny). The handbook points to posthog.com/startups for detail. Redemption steps were not verified; the campaigns-and-coupons handbook page does not mention Product Pass.
Expiry
One year.
Gotchas
Exact amounts come from a handbook summary, not the landing page, whose source only renders a LennyProductPass component.
Per the handbook summary: $2,000 in core-product credits (limited to customers who are just starting to pay) plus $2,000 for AI tools. Duration not stated.
Eligibility
Every.to subscribers; core credits only for first-time paying customers. Not startup- or student-specific.
How to claim
Not verified. The handbook says redemption is on the campaigns-and-coupons page, which does not mention Every.to.
Expiry
Not stated.
Gotchas
Summary-only figures; treat amounts as unconfirmed until checked on an official Every partner page.
Community Incubator grants (builder groups, collectives, hacker houses) medium confidence
Three tracks. Builder groups: $1,000 grant for organizers with day jobs who recruit local builders. Builder collectives: $1,000 grant plus merch for crews that already build together (often students, junior engineers, indie makers, founders). Hacker houses: $1,000 per week for housing and meals for proven crews of 4+ builders, all 18 or older, with one designated lead.
Eligibility
Collectives name students among typical applicants and require proof of shipped work. Hacker houses require finishing a group or collective first; unsolicited applications are not accepted.
How to claim
Select the track in the form on posthog.com/community-incubator, with a LinkedIn profile, GitHub username and links to shipped projects.
Expiry
Not stated.
Gotchas
These are cash-style grants for community builders, not software credits. No deadline stated. Details come from repo component source (src/components/CommunityIncubator/CommunityIncubatorProgram.tsx), not the rendered page.
Self-hosted PostHog (open source, no PostHog fee) medium confidence
Core code is MIT Expat licensed. Content under the ee/ directory is under its own license (ee/LICENSE), and third-party components keep their own licenses. Running the core code yourself carries no PostHog fee.
Eligibility
Anyone.
How to claim
Deploy from the PostHog/posthog repository. Deployment steps were not checked in this run.
Expiry
None.
Gotchas
You pay your own hosting costs. Startup and student credits do not apply to self-hosting. Which features live under ee/ (and need its license) was not verified, so the free-open-source claim covers only the non-ee code.
As of 2026-10-22. Material 2026 change: from 14 Sep 2026 (already in force), startup and YC credits can no longer pay for AI tools (PostHog Desktop, PostHog Slack app, Replay Vision, PostHog AI, Inbox). Teams that joined before that date can still pay for pre-cutoff usage with credits (official handbook and startups page). The YC deal changed to an annual $50K that renews automatically while eligible; earlier YC registrations that expired must register again. Extensions of the 12-month expiry are exceptional. No trial credits were found. No education license was found: posthog.com/education returns HTTP 404, and PostHog is not listed on the GitHub Student Developer Pack page fetched today. PostHog gives no free credits to open-source projects (its open-source sponsorship page describes PostHog sponsoring other projects); only the startup program has a small-OSS expiry waiver. Sources and verification: posthog.com/startups and posthog.com/pricing render client-side, so their terms came from a search excerpt of the official page, the official handbook, and the public posthog.com repo source files (contents/ and src/). Unverified: per-product free-tier numbers; handbook sections Credit usage, Partners and Troubleshooting (fetch failed repeatedly); Founder Lab membership criteria; Lenny's and Every.to redemption steps. The WebSearch budget ran out during this run: one search succeeded and the students search was blocked, so no further third-party or news checks were made.