Typesense: free credits and offers

Best offer on record: Self-hosted open-source Typesense engine (free, no account). 4 verified findings, checked 2026-10-22.

Offers

Self-hosted open-source Typesense engine (free, no account) high confidence

The Typesense server is free to download and run under GPL-3.0 (Docker image, native binaries, RPM/DEB packages), with no cost, no account, and no usage caps. Client libraries (Python, JS, PHP, Ruby, etc.) are Apache-licensed. IMPORTANT CORRECTION: prior notes saying 'open source (Apache 2.0)' are wrong for the engine — the server repo is GPL-3.0; Apache applies only to the client libraries. Per the vendor's README FAQ, they deliberately chose GPL over AGPL: running the server commercially on your own infrastructure does not create copyleft distribution obligations; internal modifications can stay private as long as you don't ship modified builds to others. Company is bootstrapped/'lean customer-funded' with no investor-backed sunset. No CMS product exists; 'fronts: APIs, Search & CMS' — Typesense covers APIs + Search only, not CMS.

Eligibility
Anyone; no .edu email, no credit card, no region limits, no startup age/funding cap. Commercial use permitted.
How to claim
Download via https://typesense.org/downloads/ (Docker: 'Copy Code' commands for Docker/Linux/macOS/Windows) or clone https://github.com/typesense/typesense. Run locally or on any server.
Expiry
None; ongoing license (server GPL-3.0, libs Apache). No stated end date.
Gotchas
License is GPL-3.0, not Apache 2.0 as previously assumed; if you distribute modified builds, GPL obligations apply. Self-hosted is API-only (Cloud adds admin UI, RBAC, SDN). Free support is best-effort only. This is a license, not a 'program' — it cannot be renewed or lapsed.
Source
github.com

Typesense Cloud 'free cluster' / free credits, no credit card medium confidence

Typesense Cloud advertises free credits with no credit card required. Exact site copy (cloud.typesense.org root): 'Did we mention we give you free credits? You don't even need a credit card!' The pricing calculator (now usage-based: hourly, no per-search/per-record charges, minimum 0.5GB RAM, 2 vCPUs with 1 hr burst/day, 3 nodes, add-ons: GPU, high-perf disk, HA, SDN) links to 'start with a free cluster' which is the signup page. The dollar amount of free credits and its duration are NOT disclosed on any public page (checked: root, calculator, terms, FAQ, support pages). Purchased credits expire 15 months after purchase per the Cloud Services Agreement §5; free-credit expiration is unspecified.

Eligibility
Any user who signs up (work email or GitHub sign-in); no credit card, no .edu requirement, no startup-age or funding cap found, no region limits stated.
How to claim
1) Create account at cloud.typesense.org/signup (or /pricing/start-free). 2) Launch a cluster from the dashboard using the free credits. 3) Configure size via the calculator at cloud.typesense.org/pricing/calculator.
Expiry
Not publicly stated for the free credits; agreement says purchased credits expire 15 months after purchase. Hourly billing applies after credits are exhausted.
Gotchas
Trial-like credits, not a named perpetual free tier. Once credits run out you pay hourly for the running cluster (minimum 3-node cluster). SDN/add-ons and support plans are extra. Don't assume the free credits renew or roll over.
Source
cloud.typesense.org

Free support plan ('Critical Production Support — Free') high confidence

Typesense Cloud support plans page lists a Free tier at $0: 'Best effort' response for critical production issues (no SLA), channels = Email, GitHub Issues, Public Slack Community. No SOC2/HIPAA, no bank transfer, no vendor forms, no security questionnaires, no prioritized feature requests. Handlers: 'Engineers who write the code that powers Typesense & Typesense Cloud'.

Eligibility
All Typesense Cloud users, free; no startup/student-specific eligibility.
How to claim
Open a support request via Email, GitHub Issues, or the public Slack community as listed on the support plans page; no signup for support beyond a Cloud account.
Expiry
None stated; ongoing $0 tier alongside paid tiers (Developer $160 / Business $400 / Enterprise $700 / Enterprise Signature $1,900 every 28 days).
Gotchas
Best-effort only — no response SLA and no 24x7x365 critical guarantee (that starts at the $160 Developer plan).
Source
cloud.typesense.org

Free Algolia-migration consulting/support tiers (spend-gated) high confidence

For existing Algolia customers switching to Typesense Cloud (free offers tied to current Algolia spend, from the pricing calculator page): spend >$1,000/mo → 'FREE 30-Minute Consulting' call; >$2,000/mo → 'FREE 1-Year Prioritized Business Support & Migration Consulting' (listed $5,200 value); >$3,000/mo → 'FREE 1-Year Prioritized Enterprise Support & Migration Consulting' (listed $9,100 value) plus 'FREE Private Slack Connect Support' and an advisory-board invite.

Eligibility
Existing Algolia customers crossing the stated monthly-spend thresholds; effectively mid-sized+ startups/companies; not aimed at students or individuals.
How to claim
Contact Typesense (sales/demo, e.g., 'Schedule a Demo' on cloud.typesense.org) citing your Algolia spend to unlock the matching tier.
Expiry
The 1-year support offers last 1 year from grant; promotion has no stated end date.
Gotchas
Gated on live Algolia spend, not on age/funding; 'value' figures are Typesense's own list prices.
Source
cloud.typesense.org

2025–26 changes

Listed in