Windmill: free credits and offers

Best offer on record: Free and Open-source (self-hosted Community Edition) tier. 3 verified findings, checked 2026-10-22.

Offers

Free and Open-source (self-hosted Community Edition) tier high confidence

$0/mo, self-hosted. Free-column limits as listed on windmill.dev/pricing (read 2026-10-22; two separate extractions agreed): executions unlimited; 3 workspaces; max 50 users; SSO max 10 users; object storage 10 GiB quota; max 4 groups; max 100 emails/day for email triggers; job run details retained <=30 days; Git sync up to 2 users; 100 free app guests per 30 days (guests take no seat). Not included: SAML/SCIM, audit logs, Kafka/NATS/SQS/GCP/Azure triggers. Support is Discord community only.

Eligibility
Open to anyone. No .edu, student status, startup age, or funding-cap condition is stated. Runs on the user's own infrastructure.
How to claim
Nothing to claim: no sign-up, card, or license key is described for the free column (LICENSE_KEY is for Enterprise Edition only). Download the Community Edition (Docker images or binaries from the windmill-labs/windmill GitHub repo) and follow the self-hosting docs.
Expiry
None stated; listed as a standing $0/mo plan with no end date.
Gotchas
(1) README (github.com/windmill-labs/windmill, read via raw README): 'The Community Edition is free to use internally.' Commercial redistribution or managed services need a commercial agreement (sales@windmill.dev); the README says a commercial license is required if you sell commercially or embed Windmill in a distributable product or binary. A startup hosting Windmill for customers or shipping it inside its product is outside the free tier. (2) Limits bind as you grow: 3 workspaces, 50 users, SSO for 10 users. Upgrade path is Enterprise from $120/mo plus $20/mo per builder and $10/mo per non-builder. (3) Community support only. (4) License is AGPLv3 with Apache-2.0 for some files; prebuilt Community Edition images/binaries include proprietary code under separate terms (GitHub README summary; check the LICENSE files before relying on it). AGPL network-use terms may apply if modified. (5) Pricing model was revised in Nov 2024 (see sunset_notes).
Source
windmill.dev

Enterprise one-month trial ('Try it for a month') medium confidence

The pricing page links 'Try it for a month' to https://portal.windmill.dev/trial for the Enterprise tier. Duration: one month (no day count shown). No trial credits are described. Trial scope is Enterprise: unlimited workspaces and users, uncapped SSO, SAML and SCIM, audit logs, S3 cache, 24/7 support with 3h response time. Post-trial Enterprise pricing as listed: from $120/mo; $20/mo per builder; $10/mo per non-builder; standard workers $50/worker/mo; worked example $170/mo (1 builder, 2 standard workers, 8 subworkers).

Eligibility
Not stated on the pricing page. No student or startup condition found. Portal sign-up requirements could not be read.
How to claim
Click 'Try it for a month' on windmill.dev/pricing, which opens portal.windmill.dev/trial. The portal is client-rendered and the signup steps could not be read.
Expiry
One month; start date and end-of-trial behavior not stated.
Gotchas
This is a trial of paid Enterprise, not a free tier; the $0 Community Edition is separate. Card requirement, auto-renewal, and post-trial billing are unverified, so do not assume the trial is card-free. Only the existence of the trial link and its one-month length are confirmed.
Source
windmill.dev

Windmill Cloud free-tier workspaces (existence only; limits unverified) low confidence

A free tier exists on Windmill Cloud. The July 2026 changelog entry 'Workspace forks on Windmill Cloud' (release v1.746.0) says paid workspaces on 'Team or Enterprise' plans can be forked, with forks capped at 5 per paid developer seat of the root workspace, and that 'Free-tier workspaces cannot fork'. No Cloud free-tier limits, trial credits, or prices were readable. The Cloud/Self-hosted/White Label tabs on the pricing page are client-rendered, and app.windmill.dev returned a 'Loading...' placeholder.

Eligibility
Unknown; not stated in any readable source.
How to claim
Unknown; sign-up at app.windmill.dev could not be read. Check the Cloud tab on windmill.dev/pricing or the sign-up page directly.
Expiry
Unknown.
Gotchas
Free-tier Cloud workspaces cannot be forked (since July 2026). A 'Team' plan is named in the changelog, but no price was found. Treat the Cloud free tier's limits as unknown until checked in-app.
Source
windmill.dev

Low confidence: verify before claiming.

Listed in