Best offer on record: Devin Free plan ($0, perpetual). 4 verified findings, checked 2026-10-22.
Offers
Devin Free plan ($0, perpetual) high confidence
Free tier at $0 on devin.ai/pricing: 'Light quota to code with agents', 'Limited model availability', 'Unlimited inline edits', 'Unlimited Tab completions', concurrent sessions capped at 10, Slack/Teams integrations, premium-model throughput marked 'Slow'. Docs (docs.devin.ai/admin/billing/self-serve.md) confirm Free grants 'Limited Devin usage' plus Devin Review and DeepWiki access, with usage allowance that refreshes on a daily and weekly basis; no dollar-value quota is published for the Free tier. Free sign-up: docs say users 'can sign up for free!'; no credit card is mentioned anywhere on the pricing or getting-started pages. No trial period or trial credits are offered — docs explicitly state 'Free trials of paid plans are not currently offered.'
Eligibility
Open to any individual, no .edu or startup requirements, no credit card required (not stated as required; free download/Signup link). No region limits stated on the pages read.
How to claim
Register at devin.ai (Download free / Sign up for free). Free plan is $0; upgrade to any paid plan anytime via Settings > Plans. No email domain, funding, or age requirement stated.
Expiry
Perpetual free tier; no expiry stated. Quota refreshes daily/weekly; purchased on-demand credits never expire and roll over.
Gotchas
Agent quota is 'Light' with no published session or dollar amounts, so heavy agent use is quickly capped. Premium models are slow on Free; the page recommends mini models. The historical ~$10/mo Windsurf credit allowance is NOT stated anywhere on the current official pages. Overages on paid tiers bill at on-demand API pricing — Free simply has a limited quota. Free trials of paid plans do not exist.
Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) Free tier — IDE agent high confidence
The Windsurf IDE was renamed Devin Desktop ('Devin Desktop is the new name for Windsurf' — devin.ai/desktop FAQ). Free tier: $0 with direct Download link, unlimited inline edits and unlimited Tab completions (from the devin.ai/pricing Free row), 'Light' agent quota and 'Limited model availability'. Plans/extensions/settings carry over from old Windsurf accounts automatically via over-the-air update; Windsurf for JetBrains (IntelliJ, PyCharm, WebStorm) still downloadable. Docs (desktop/accounts/usage) say model credits are metered per agent prompt ('default message costing 1 credit') with per-model multipliers; no numeric free-plan credit allowance is published today.
Eligibility
Open to anyone; no .edu, no startup gate, no credit card stated as required. Not student/startup-specific — same free tier as the Devin plan.
How to claim
Download Devin Desktop (devin.ai/desktop, Free tier, $0) or keep the Windsurf JetBrains plugin; sign up free; the historical Windsurf account/credits/settings migrate automatically.
Expiry
No expiry stated for the free tier; daily/weekly refresh quotas apply.
Gotchas
'Cascade' (the old Windsurf agent name) no longer appears in any current docs or release notes — agent usage is now metered under Devin Desktop ACU/credit mechanics; the historically quoted ~$10/month free credit allowance is not confirmed on any current official page. Free = no Devin Cloud/API access, no shared/collab features (those start at Pro/Teams).
Official program at devin.ai/startup (rolling review, apply via form): $15K in Devin credits loaded to your account on approval, plus a $50K matching grant — 1:1 dollar match on your next $100K of usage ('You spend $50K, you get $100K'), totaling $65K value. Also: unlimited seats (whole team in collaborative sessions), exclusive events (founder meetups, early-access previews), and a Devin swag pack for accepted startups. Social proof on page: NVIDIA, Cloudflare, Modal, Mercor, OpenRouter, Gamma, Exa, Profound.
Eligibility
Marketed to 'early-stage' startups. The page states NO funding cap, company-age limit, headcount limit, revenue requirement, or geography restriction; review is rolling with no hard deadline. No public terms/ToS link or credit-expiry window is published.
How to claim
Fill out the application form at devin.ai/startup describing your startup; on approval $15K credits load immediately and the $50K 1:1 match applies to your next $100K of usage.
Expiry
No credit expiry or usage deadline published; matching grant applies to 'your next $100K of usage'. Program availability not dated.
Gotchas
All eligibility guardrails are off-page (in the application/review process) — a startup not deemed 'early-stage' could be rejected. The offer is Devin cloud-agent credits, not a free IDE tier for the team; unlimited seats are about collaborative Devin sessions, not free seats in the paid Desktop/Teams product. No region limits stated, but nothing either guarantees service availability in your country.
Teams 'Flex seats' (free seats inside a paid team) high confidence
On the Teams plan ($80/mo minimum, up to 200 users, $40/mo per full developer seat), Flex seats are listed as 'Free': they carry no per-seat charge and draw 'entirely from the team's shared pool of on-demand credits'; no separate limit on flex seats, but every member (full or flex) counts toward the 200-user cap. Under the $80 minimum, 0 full seats = $80 of on-demand credits, 1 full seat = $40 credits, 2+ full seats = $0 bundled credits.
Eligibility
Not student/startup-specific — any organization buying Devin Teams. A free seat only exists inside a paid team plan; there is no standalone free team.
How to claim
Buy a Devin Teams plan ($80/mo minimum) and add Flex seats at $0/seat, billing their usage from the shared on-demand credit pool.
Expiry
Included purchased credits never expire and roll over month-to-month; auto-refill can be configured (default monthly budget cap $160, in $120 increments of 1,000 pooled credits per docs.devin.ai desktop usage page).
Gotchas
Flex seats have no included quota — every agent action bills the shared pool, so a large flex team can burn the credit pool fast; not a genuine zero-cost offer (the $80/mo team minimum is mandatory).
EDUCATION: No active student/education license found as of 2026-10-22. Official checks today: devin.ai/education returns 404, cognition.ai/education redirects to cognition.com/education which returns 404, and the full docs.devin.ai index (llms.txt) contains no education/student page; no student or classroom offer appears on devin.ai/pricing. Any earlier Devin/Windsurf/Codeium student pilot therefore appears to have been sunsetting-era or simply not published as a current program — I could not independently confirm its history because the session's web-search budget was exhausted, so treat the historical student-pilot detail as unverified (medium-low confidence). RENAME: 'Windsurf' the IDE was rebranded to 'Devin Desktop' by Cognition; docs.windsurf.com now 307-redirects to docs.devin.ai/desktop, the 'Cascade' agent name is gone from current docs/release notes (2025 and 2026 releases), and the historically quoted ~$10/month free credit allowance is not stated on any current official page. TRIALS: docs explicitly state 'Free trials of paid plans are not currently offered' — so the only free offers are the perpetual $0 Free tier, the Devin Startup Program, and free Flex seats inside a paid Teams plan. Note: official pages do not publish exact Free-tier quota numbers; 'Light quota' is all that is stated.